Time Zone The time zone of Cyprus is GMT +2. Currency The currency of Cyprus is the Euro. Cyprus has been a member of the European Union since 1 May 2004. Population and Total Area Located in the Eastern Mediterranean, the total area of Cyprus is 9,250 square kilometres with a coastline of 648 km. The population is 858,000. Principal cities The principal cities of Cyprus are Nicosia (the capital), Limassol, Larnaca and Paphos. Languages Greek and Turkish are the official languages. English is prevalent throughout the Island and is the principal business language. French, German and Russian are also commonly spoken in tourist areas. Principal economic activities Tourism, Services, Shipping, Real Estate, Energy. Weather Cyprus has a subtropical climate, with an average annual temperature of 24oC during the day and 14oC at night. Average daily sunshine ranges from 9.8 hours in December to 14.5 hours in June. The summer season extends to approximately 8 months (April – November), with the months of July and August marking considerably high temperatures (over 35oC). The winter season (November – March) is mild, while snow falls often in the Troodos Mountains from mid-December through to the end of March.


Political system Cyprus is a presidential democratic republic. The head of state is the president who is elected directly by the people for a term of five years and appoints the governing Council of Ministers. The parliament of Cyprus is the House of Representatives which comprises 59 members elected directly by the people for a term of five years, including three observer members representing the Armenian, Latin and Maronite minorities. Tax year The tax year in Cyprus is the calendar year, 1 January to 31 December. Tax treaties To date, Cyprus has signed over 55 double tax treaties with other countries. Public Holidays Public holidays in Cyprus are additional entitlements over and above the twentyone day statutory minimum annual leave. The following days determined by the Cyprus government as national holidays (being public holidays for state-owned organisations) are usually granted by Cypriot employers as public holidays for their employees: 1 January (New Year’s Day); 6 January (Epiphany); Monday of Easter Lent (moveable date); 25 March (National Day); 1 April (1955-1959 EOKA National Day); Good Friday (moveable date); Easter Monday (moveable date); 1 May (Labour Day); Whit Monday (moveable date); 15 August (Assumption Day); 1 October (Independence Day);


28 October (WWII National Day) 24 December (Christmas Eve); 25 December (Christmas); 26 December (Boxing Day). In addition, many employers grant an extra holiday to employees on 2 January and the Tuesday following Easter.